Parking

Downtown has many options to fit your parking needs. No matter where you park, you're just a block or two away from your next stop. It's as simple as parking in the city parking garage where you can enjoy the open air while walking to your nearby destination. Of course, you can find a parking space that is practically in front of your destination on Main or St. Joseph streets.

The Parking Garage
The city parking garage has 560 spaces and is adjacent to Main Street Square. On Monday through Friday, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., there is public metered parking on the first level of the parking ramp. If you are parking after 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, on the weekend or holidays, all floors of the parking ramp are open and parking is free.

On-Street Parking
There is on-street parking on Main, St. Joseph and many side streets for free every day. These spots do have a time limit of three hours Monday to Saturday. For those who plan on being downtown for more than three hours Monday to Saturday, we recommend you park in a metered parking spot in the parking ramp near Main Street Square or at one of the many meters on the side streets. Parking on Sundays is free everywhere.

Other Parking Lots
Other parking lots available are located at Mt. Rushmore Road and Main streets, Sixth and St. Joseph streets, in front of the City/School Administration Building or at Fifth and St. Joseph streets on the east side of the Stockgrowers Building. Parking is free in these lots after 4 p.m. Monday through Saturday, on Sundays and holidays.

Just north of Downtown, there is parking at Memorial Park and the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center.

For a Downtown Parking Map, CLICK HERE.

For more information on parking in Downtown Rapid City, CLICK HERE.

Parking Notices
Free Parking
Enjoy free parking all day in all Downtown public lots and metered spaces on the streets, and in the parking ramp near Main Street Square on the following dates:

  • Friday, Apr. 14, 2017
  • Saturday, Apr. 15, 2017
  • Saturday, May 6, 2017
  • Saturday, June 3, 2017
  • Saturday, June 10, 2017
  • Saturday, Sept. 30, 2017
  • Saturday, Oct. 7, 2017
  • Saturday, Nov. 25, 2017
  • Saturday, Dec. 2, 2017
  • Saturday, Dec. 9, 2017
  • Saturday, Dec. 16, 2017
  • Saturday, Dec. 23, 2017